The Seven Deadly Sins

lustI have three groups of students doing the Intermediate Inside Out text book, chapter three of which is all about ‘Dating’. With all the little phrases you might expect – looking for Mr Right, a spark between them, love at first sight. The last one, apparantly, isn’t very believable. According to my students. Me too, actually, but don’t tell SWMBO! So the subject of ‘lust’ tends to crop up at this stage. It’s not a word they know, but it’s easy to explain. It’s one of the Seven Deadly Sins – I just tell them to picture Jennifer Lopez walking through the door into the classroom, wearing a tight top and G String. Then imagine the look on every guys face. Picture the saliva dribbling down the chin…that’s lust. They get it. Then they want to know the other Deadly Sins. Students can be so awkward sometimes! How the hell am I meant to know what they are?! Ok, so I commit most of them, but that’s a good reason to not know what they are – ignorance is a perfectly good defence! Well, I’ve had to look them up! Lust, Gluttony, Greed, Sloth, Wrath, Envy, Pride. Ok, I knew some of them. I’m a great fan of Sloth in partiular. Gluttony is pretty tasty if the cook has talent. Greed is good, as everyone who ever watched Wall Street will know. Wrath, Envy and Pride? I’m sure I do a little of each now and then!

Lust, Gluttony and Sloth are my Big 3!



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.